DRJ Spring 2020

Conference & Exhibit

Attend The #1 BC/DR Event!

Winter Journal

Volume 32, Issue 4

Full Contents Now Available!

Glossary of terms used on this site

Download Entire Glossary:

(Word doc or PDF of Word version)


(MS Excel: for Excel versions 2007 and later)


(MS Excel: compatible with MS Excel 1997 to 2003)


(PDF of Excel version)


UPDATED: September 2019
Search for glossary terms (regular expression allowed)
Begin with Contains Exact term


Call Tree
A document that graphically depicts the calling responsibilities and the calling order used to contact management, employees, customers, vendors, and other key contacts in the event of an emergency, disaster, or severe outage situation.
Call Tree Test
A test designed to validate the currency of contact lists and the processes by which they are maintained.
An umbrella term which generically encompasses business processes or activities, and/or technology systems or applications.
Capability Assessment for Readiness (CAR)
This is the process of self-assessment under the US Standard NFPA 1600.
Capability Resilience Level (CRL)
The relative degree to which a capability can be impacted by a single disaster event.
Cascade System
A system whereby one person or organization calls out/contacts others who in turn initiate further call-outs/contacts as necessary.
Casualty Bureau
The central police controlled contact and information point for all records and data relating to casualties and fatalities.
Occurs when a disaster's effects are widespread and its impact is so great that it overwhelms a community's ability to function.
Certificate of the Business Continuity Institute (CBCI)
This entry level certified membership grade is for those professionals that have passed the Certificate of the BCI (CBCI) Examination.
Certified Business Continuity Auditor (CBCA)
The CBCA level is designed for the specialist who can verify the effectiveness of an organization's business continuity program against the landscape of standards, guidelines and industry regulations. The professional should demonstrate a minimum of 2 years of knowledge and experience in the fields of business continuity, emergency management and/or auditing and pass the DRII administered Audit Examination.
Certified Business Continuity Lead Auditor (CBCLA)
The CBCLA level is designed for audit team leaders. The professional should demonstrate 5 years of experience in the fields of emergency management, enterprise risk management, leadership, business continuity and/or auditing and pass the DRII administered Audit Examination.
Certified Business Continuity Professional (CBCP)
Certified Business Continuity Professional. The CBCP certification is for individuals with a minimum of two years of Enterprise Continuity Mgmt experience in 5 of the 10 Professional Practice areas, have passed the qualifying exam and have had their DRII - Certification Application approved.
Certified Business Continuity Vendor (CBCV)
The CBCV certification is for individuals with some knowledge in business continuity planning, but who are non-practitioners within an organization. CBCVs provide services to the industry and have acquired the experience for certification. An active ABCP, CFCP, CBCP, or MBCP certification is required.
Certified Cyber Resilience Professional (CCRP)

The CCRP level of certification is reserved for those professionals that can demonstrate knowledge, experience, and leadership in cyber resilience and business continuity related areas. Qualified applicants should have more than two (2) years of experience and must be able to demonstrate specific and practical experience.

Certified Functional Continuity Professional (CFCP)
The CFCP level of certification is for individuals who have demonstrated knowledge and working experience in the business continuity/disaster recovery industry. The level requires more than two years of experience. Applicants must be able to demonstrate specific and practical experience in three of the subject matter areas of the Professional Practices.