DRJ Fall 2019

Conference & Exhibit

Attend The #1 BC/DR Event!

Fall Journal

Volume 32, Issue 3

Full Contents Now Available!

Monday, 21 October 2013 13:53

The BCI’s Good Practice Guidelines


For more than 10 years, the Business Continuity Institute (BCI) has presented its views and guidance on how business continuity should be performed. Called the Good Practice Guidelines (GPG), the document is updated every two to three years with new and revised information that reflects the continuing maturity of the business continuity management (BCM) profession. The 2013 version of the GPG includes terminology from ISO 22301:2012, the international standard for business continuity management systems (BCMS). In this column we’ll review the structure of the GPG and key highlights. Following an introduction, BCI backgrounder, frequently asked questions and a briefing on the BCM lifecycle, the GPG divides into two primary sections: management practices and technical practices. At the end is a glossary of terminology. Let’s examine each of the practices in more detail. Six professional practices can be found in the GPG. The management practices section includes policy and program management (practice 1) and